Friday Spotlight – Freedom Coffee Club

Well, I consider my day to be well spent… one of my coworkers just promised to bring me venison sausage.
VENISON. SAUSAGE.
Since today couldn’t possibly improve upon that development, I think it best that I go straight back to sleep.

January is National Slavery and Human Trafficking Prevention Month.
Despite the Presidental proclamation on December 11, 2011, I don’t really recall hearing very much about this outside of anti-trafficking organizations. I realize that proclaiming a month to be dedicated to a particular issue might be a bit like proclaiming a day to be dedicated for speaking like a buccaneer… nothing much is accomplished unless the public buys in (because if we all speak like pirates, we can take back the waterways, savvy?).

So, in honor of the month, I’m going to briefly mention an anti-trafficking organization or affiliate every week, in the hopes that this month will have more of an impact than “Soap Opera Month” or “Etch-A-Sketch Month” or “TeaCup Poodle Month“.***
I don’t know that we need a month dedicated to teacup Poodles, but I would be very much interested in a tiny teacup elephant… do we make those?
Do such things occur in nature?
Wouldn’t that be absurdly precious?
Can I have one, please?

Eurasia Cafe Coffee & Tea offers coffee and tea (which may have been slightly obvious, considering their name), with a percentage of the revenue going to support various causes. They’ve recently launched the Freedom Coffee Club, in which for $28 per month, you can receive 2 lbs. of Freedom Blend Coffee, with 10% going to the Deepika Vocational Center in Kolkata, India.

The Deepika Vocational Center provides care and training to victims of sexual exploitation, and is an affiliate of Project Rescue, an organization that has been working with victims of trafficking since 1997. Eurasia Cafe also carries a bit of purchasable swag made by the ladies at the Deepika Center. More information is available through the links (because a story is best heard and understood from the mouth of the horse… which is a ridiculous saying and I don’t know why we use it).

SO.
There is it, ya’ll.
If you drink coffee, and you’re desperate for something that tastes better than Folgers (and, really, who isn’t?), and you have an interest in donating monthly to support victims of trafficking, consider the tasty alternative above, won’t you?

*** All of these months may be entirely fictional. I take no responsibility for any confusion resulting from my assertion that these months may have existed at one point in time.